africalana

And so it begins…

Posted on: June 5, 2011

I thought I should probably start a blog for when I go to Tanzania in July, as a way to document what I will be experiencing. Although I may bring an old fashioned journal (haha) as well, I am going to try and limit my time on the internet, so having a blog is much easier, and whoever wants to read it, can! I go to Arusha, Tanzania July 13th and come back August 13th, and I already regret not extending my time… but I have responsibilities here to attend to. I am volunteering in an orphanage (to be determined where a couple of weeks before I go) through International Volunteer HQ (still unsure as to what the HQ stands for- headquarters? high quality?). I fly from Winnipeg-Montreal-Amsterdam-Kilimanjaro and on the way back I go Kilimanjaro- Dar es Salaam- Amsterdam- Calgary- Winnipeg. Long Journey!

I have been wanting to volunteer overseas somewhere since high school, but only now do I feel mature enough to go and actually do so. I was choosing between Tanzania and Ecuador (Ecuador for selfish reasons- Galapagos Islands), but ultimately decided on Tanzania after reading about others’ experiences.

I will try and update 1-2 times a week while I am there and before that, update when I receive information about where I am volunteering! I don’t know how to make this blog look nice or anything, but this will make do 🙂

Alana

PS. a little daily motivation:

1 Response to "And so it begins…"

Hi, this is a comment.
To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Message Me Please!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

Kind Readers!

  • 973 people who care :)

ma’ tweets!

