africalana

Chik Fever

Posted on: June 15, 2011

Chik fever… also known as Chikungunya fever originated in the lovely country of Tanzania. Does this mean I am more susceptible to contracting it?! I hope not! Although not life threatening, it seems like a pain to deal with, it is one of the many illnesses one can contract from those pesky little mosquitoes.

Anyways…… Today I met with the travel nurse (which was stupidly expensive, by the way) to learn about Chik fever and all of the other fun things I can contract. I went in knowing I needed my Yellow Fever shot, but apparently one needle=an hour speech. I guess it is important to know what to be careful of. I am not worried though, I have all my shots, I am not stupid….. although mosquitoes do have an affinity for my blood.

I go in 29 days (pretty much 28) and I couldn’t be more excited. I ordered a Kindle online, and it came in the mail yesterday, so that is exciting because instead of lugging books upon books, I can lug around this little toy. I also got a cover for it that makes it seem like I am holding a book, so whoever thinks that the Kindle ruins this experience… think again my friends! Journey’s travel has so many fun travel accessories, I will most definitely be going back before I leave.

Alana

p.s. I go out of town for 10 days next Friday, so that is going to make time go by extremely fast, yay!

 

Message Me Please!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other subscribers

Kind Readers!

  • 1,014 people who care :)